Using Table Views for Objects in WorkSpan

Follow

 Table views in WorkSpan help you to view and compare rows of data simultaneously in any order that you choose. You can configure table views for all your objects, reports, and tasks.

Look for this icon across WorkSpan to identify when you can toggle to a Table View: mceclip3.png

 

Table View Action Bar

When in a Table View, you will see this action bar at the top of the table:

Screen_Shot_2020-05-05_at_2.26.11_PM.png

Here is a quick summary of the different table view actions available. Below, you can read more about each one.

 

Screen_Shot_2020-05-05_at_2.28.46_PM.png

1: View Switcher - Use this to switch to a different saved view.

2: Keyword Search - Search for keywords like a name, region, partner, or product within the current view.

3: Export - You can export all rows, or use the checkboxes to select only some.

4: Column Selector - Change which columns you see in the table and their order.

5: Filter Selector - Add, change, and remove filters to customize your view.

6: Sort Order - Sort the rows in your table by one or more columns.

7: Save New View - Click to save the current view, including filters, columns, and sort order, with a new name.

8: Fullscreen - Where available, this will take you to a fullscreen version of the table.

 

Individual Column Controls

By clicking once or twice on a column header, you can sort the rows by that field, ascending or descending.

By clicking the menu icon "mceclip11.png" on any column header, you can find additional settings for each column.

mceclip10.png

On the first tab (see screenshot above), you can Pin the column left/right, "Group by" the column's values (pivot the table around that field), Reset the view to System Default, and Resize the column.

On the second tab, you will find filter and search options specific to that column:

mceclip13.png

 

"My Views" - Using Private Views

Every user, regardless of access level, can save private table views. Your personal "My Views" cannot be accessed by any other user, however they can still be used to build shared metrics.

To save a private views, leave the "Save as a Shared View" box unchecked when saving a new view:

mceclip0.png

To access your previously-saved private views, select the My Views tab in the View Switcher:

mceclip1.png

Other Actions on "My Views"

Under the gear icon next to each view, you will find options to Rename the view, Delete the view, and Copy to Shared Views. (Note that only Owners and Collaborators can add a view to Shared Views.)

mceclip2.png

 

Using Shared Views

On Objects and Reports, Owners and Collaborators can create and edit Shared Views. Shared Views can be seen by all members of an object, although Participants will only see the specific rows in the table to which they have access.

To save a Shared View, check the "Save as a Shared View" box when saving a new view:

mceclip3.png

To access Shared Views created by yourself or others, select the Shared Views tab in the View Switcher:

mceclip4.png

Other Actions on "Shared Views"

Under the gear icon next to each shared view, you will find the options to Rename the view, Delete the view, Copy to My Views, and set the view as the Suggested Default view.

mceclip15.png

 

My Default View mceclip4.png and Suggested Default View mceclip5.png

Each user can individually choose a My Default View on any table, which will be the first view loaded when they land on that table. Your current default view is indicated by a gold star.

To change your personal default view, click the black star outline next to a My View or a Shared View:

mceclip7.png

Owners can specify a Suggested Default View from the list of Shared Views. The Suggested Default view is indicated by a pin icon and can be found at the top of the list of Shared View. The Suggested Default will serve as each member's default view until they override it by choosing their own default view (gold star). To change the Suggested Default view, click on the gear icon & choose "Set as Suggested Default view":

mceclip1.png

Note: The WorkSpan-provided System Default view will be the Suggested Default view and each user's My Default View until these settings are changed by users. 

 

Show/Hide Private Fields on Table Views

mceclip9.png

You can run joint pipeline reviews on a shared screen and be confident that your private fields are not shared with your partners by using the "Hide Private Fields" button. All private data, including fields and metrics, will be hidden from all pages, including overview pages and table views. This user-level setting is persistent across the application and across sessions, so you can navigate between various objects and table views without worry.

To unhide private fields, click the same button, which will have changed to "Show Private Fields".

NOTE: This button will hide private fields but does not hide rows. In order to ensure that you are only sharing rows that the partner has access to, you should filter the Member Company column to the Partner company before starting the screen share.

 

Configuring Table Views before data is present

In order to save table views with filters before any matching data is added, you will need to set up Default Templates for your tables. Please see the article on Pre-Configuring Table Views and Metrics.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.