Right now, there is no special handling of Referral deletion on the WorkSpan side. Hence no information is sent to WorkSpan if a Referral is deleted in Salesforce, and vice versa. In order to avoid possible problems, the option to delete Referrals is not available OOTB to any persona. For a user to become able to delete Referrals, they need to have the following:
- The object-level Delete permission for the Referral object or the ‘Modify All Data’ system permission is provided via their Profile or a Permission Set. This is already included in the WorkSpan SOM permission set.
- The packaged ’Delete Opportunity Referrals’ Custom Permission is assigned to them. This is already included in the WorkSpan Admin permission set.
- [Optionally] The standard Delete button is added to every Referral Page Layout.
Important things to note:
- A user needs both p.1 and p.2 to be able to delete Referrals. Otherwise, they will get the “You don't have the right to delete this record; contact your system administrator.” error message:
- P.3 is optional because having p.1 means that a user will see the Delete action in the Referral list views. This is not configurable. However, without p.2, they won’t be able to use it.
- If you update a Referral in Salesforce and then delete it in Salesforce before the async update is sent to WorkSpan (which usually takes only a few seconds, but Salesforce does NOT guarantee that), then the async update becomes unqueued, and the updated information will never reach WorkSpan.
- If a Referral is deleted in Salesforce, but then WorkSpan sends an update for it—it will receive an error, and the Referral will NOT be re-created.