Object Security, Sharing and Discoverability Settings

Follow

Object Security, Sharing and Discoverability Settings

You can access and update the object security, sharing and discoverability settings from the Discoverability panel on the object overview page.

  • All object overview pages (except Opportunities) have a Discoverability panel. For Opportunities, this panel can be accessed from the Gear icon.
  • Click Edit (pencil icon) on the Discoverability panel. Edit is only enabled when you hover in the panel header. Edit Discoverability window opens.

Note: Only users with Owner access level can update these settings.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-02_at_1.24.18_PM.png

Security Settings

  • Configure the Sharing Mode - who can invite additional users to this object
  • Control if users requesting access are automatically added to the object, or the requests require approval from owners
  • Configure member privacy - can participant members view other participant companies on this object.

Sharing Mode

Sharing Mode determines which members on the object can invite additional users to this object, and at what access levels.

sharingmodeonobjects.gif

There are three sharing modes for all objects in WorkSpan:

  • Owner Mode: Most restrictive mode. When an object is in this mode, then, only a user with an owner access level can add new users or companies, and set the discoverability options on the object.
  • Partner Mode: Delegate the sharing to other members. All members on an object can share the object with new users and companies. However, members can only grant access levels equal to or below their own access levels.
    • A collaborator can invite users at an access level of collaborator, participant or viewer to other members but cannot grant owner access.
    • A viewer can invite users at an access level of participant or viewer, but cannot grant owner or collaborator access.
    • A participant can only invite users with participant access level, and cannot grant any other access level.
  • Network Mode: For broadcasting to all companies on the WorkSpan network. All members can share with new users and companies. However, members can only grant an access level equal to or below their own access levels. Any user from any company on the WorkSpan Network can discover and request to join an object that is in this mode.
Note: Users who create objects in WorkSpan are assigned an Owner access level by default on that object.

Sharing Mode

Owner (access level)

Collaborator

(access level)

Participant(access level)

Viewer (access level)

Who can Request to Join?

Owner Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

No

No

No

Users from a member company, when Can Employees Find and Request to Join is set to Yes in the Discoverability panel for an object.

Partner Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

Yes - add users at any access level, except Owner

Yes - add users at Participant access level only

Yes - add users at Viewer  access level only

Users from a member company, where Can Employees Find and Request to Join is set to Yes in the Discoverability panel for an object.

Network Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

Yes - add users at any access, except Owner

Yes - add users at Participant access level only

Yes - add users at Viewer access level only

Users from ANY company on the WorkSpan Network

 

Sharing Mode

Who can edit Can Employees Find and Request to Join? 

Default value for Can Employees Find and Request to Join

Owner Mode

Only Owners can select this for any member company.

No

Partner Mode

Only Owners can select this for any member company.

Users at other access levels can update this setting only for their own company.

Yes

Network Mode

Not Applicable, as users from any company can request to join

Not Applicable, as users from any company can request to join

 

Auto Accept Requests to Join

If the object is set to be discoverable to users in a company or a partner program, those users can request access to the object. 

  • If this setting is not checked (default), these requests must be approved by the owner before the user is granted access to the object.
  • If this setting is checked, the user will be accepted and automatically added to the object, without any approvals from the owner.

Can participants view members from other participant companies?

To ensure member privacy, check this setting for whether participants can view information about participants from other companies in the program.

  • If this setting is not checked (default), Participants cannot view users from Participant companies or the names of other Participant companies.Participants can view owners, collaborators, viewers and the companies associated with these members. Use this setting if this is a closed ecosystem program with multiple partners but the partner membership information must stay private. Following restrictions are also placed for participants when this setting is checked:
    • Assets: Participants can only access assets that they created or assets uploaded by owners, collaborators, and viewers.
    • Tasks: Participants can only access tasks created by them, assigned to them or watched by them.
    • Comments Participants cannot access Comments.
    • Sharing: If Sharing Mode Is set to Any Member, the participant can only invite users from their own company.
    • Notifications: Participants will only receive notifications (in Activity Log and Work Center) for the above updates and should not see any updates made by participants from other companies.
  • If this setting is checked, Participants can view the information, assets, tasks, comments, notifications from all users and companies, including Participant companies on the object. Use this setting for a collaborative ecosystem program where partner-to-partner motions are encouraged and contribute to the success of the program. 

Note that users at Owner, Collaborator or Viewer access level can always view all users and companies on the object. 

 

Discoverability Settings

You can configure your objects to be discoverable to users in a company or members of a partner program.

Member Companies

  • Update if all employees of a company can find and request to join by default when a company is added on an object (when the first user from a company is added on an object, the company is automatically added to that object).
  • Add new companies in your network to an object.
  1. To add a company, search for the company and click Add.
  2. In the company row, select Yes in the Can Employees Find & Request to Join column if you want employees of that company to be able to search and join the object as a participant without implicit approval from object owners. (To get your access levels updated, please contact object owners).
  3. In the company row, select No in the Can Employees Find & Request to Join column if you do not want employees of that company to be able to search and join the object.
  4. The Highest Access Level field indicates the highest access level of a user from that company on the object. The Access hierarchy from highest to lowest is - Owner, Collaborator, Viewer, Participant.
  5. The Last Updated By column will indicate when the discoverability settings for a particular company was changed.
  6. The GIF image attached below shows how a Participant would view a Partner Program with restricted participant visibility(When this setting is Off) where the following restrictions are placed:


    participant-view1.1.gif
  7. The GIF image below shows how an Owner would view a Partner Program with restricted participant visibility.
    Owner-restricted-view1.1.gif
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.