Sharing Modes for Objects in WorkSpan

Follow

 There are three sharing modes for objects in WorkSpan:

  • Owner Mode: Most restrictive mode. Only an owner can add new users or companies, and set the company flags for employees to find and request to join.
  • Partner Mode: Delegate the sharing to other members, facilitating seamless collaboration. All members can share with new users and companies. However, members can only grant access level equivalent to or below their own access levels.
  • Network Mode: Broadcast to all companies on the network. All members can share with new users and companies. However, members can only grant an access level equivalent to or below their own access levels. In addition, any user from any company on WorkSpan Network can discover and request to join. 

Users who create objects in WorkSpan are assigned an Owner access level by default on that object.

An owner can then invite additional owners within their company or from partner companies, and invite users at other access levels too.

Owners decide if members at other access levels (non-owner access levels) can also share with other users or if the data can be shared across the network, with other companies too. This is managed via the Sharing Mode set for an object.

Owners have the ultimate authority on Who Can Share and Who You Can Share With. There are certain actions that only an owner can perform:

  • Only Owners can set the Sharing Mode on an object
  • Only Owners can withdraw users and companies from an object

Sharing Mode

Owner (access level)

Collaborator

(access level)

Participant(access level)

Viewer (access level)

Who can Request to Join?

Owner Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

No

No

No

Users from a member company, where Can Employees Find and Request to Join is set to Yes

Partner Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

Yes - add users at any access level, except Owner

Yes - add users at Participant access level only

Yes - add users at Viewer  access level only

Users from a member company, where Can Employees Find and Request to Join is set to Yes

Network Mode

Yes - add users at any access level, from any company

Yes - add users at any access, except Owner

Yes - add users at Participant access level only

Yes - add users at Viewer access level only

Users from ANY company on WorkSpan Network


In addition, the default company settings for employees to find and request to join, and who can set this, are also controlled by the Sharing Mode.

Sharing Mode

Who can edit the value for Can Employees Find and Request to Join

Default value for Can Employees Find and Request to Join

Owner Mode

Only Owners can set this for any member company.

No

Partner Mode

Only Owners can set this for any member company.


Users at other access levels can update this setting only for their own company.

Yes

Network Mode

Not Applicable, as users from any company can request to join

Not Applicable, as users from any company can request to join

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.