Access Levels on Objects in WorkSpan

Follow

Overview

Access Levels in WorkSpan set the object level access for users, i.e, who can view, edit, copy, clone, delete and share an object.  A user can be added to an object in WorkSpan with one of the following four access levels:

  • Owner: Has superpowers to manage an object as a whole, and tailor member access.
  • Collaborator: Has view and edit rights to all sections in an object but cannot delete the object. Use this level for the core team members on the object.
  • Participant: Has view rights to most sections (except the financial sections) and can edit activities and assets that are specifically assigned to them.
  • Viewer: Has view-only access. Appropriate for operations team, who need to view all aspects but are not going to make any updates.

accesslevelsonobjects.gif

Access Levels can be set for the following objects in WorkSpan:

    • Partner Programs
    • Joint Marketing: Campaigns, Programs, Marketing Plans and Activities
    • Joint Solutions: Solutions, Opportunities
    • Joint Sales: Sales Plans, Opportunities and Assessments
    • Reports
    • Content Library
    • Workflows
    • Templates
Note: Users who create objects in WorkSpan are assigned an Owner access level by default on that object.
An owner can invite/assign additional members owner access level both within their company or from partner companies. Owners can invite/assign users at other access levels too.

Owners decide via the Sharing Mode set for an object, if members at other access levels (collaborators, participants, viewers) can also share with other users or if the data can be shared across the entire network, with other companies too. 

Owners on objects have the ultimate authority on Who Can Share and Who You Can Share With. There are certain actions that only an owner can perform:

  • Only Owners can set the Sharing Mode on an object
  • Only Owners can withdraw companies from an object

Access levels control the following Object Level Actions for a user in WorkSpan:

Action

Owner

Collaborator

Participant

Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes - Restricted

Cannot view Financial/Funding sections on Campaigns

Yes

Edit

Yes

Yes

Yes - Restricted

Cannot edit Financial/Funding sections on Campaigns

No

Clone (Copy)

Yes

No

No

No

Archive and Delete

Yes

No

No

No

Add Assets

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

View Assets

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Edit / Delete Assets

Yes

Yes

Yes - Restricted

Can only edit or delete their own assets.

No

Add Tasks

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

View Tasks

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Edit/Delete Tasks

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Email Notifications for Updates

Yes

Yes

Yes

No


Within Programs and Campaigns, there are additional actions such as Funding, Claim Requests and Claim Approvals that require a higher access level for a user to perform.

In Campaigns:

Action

Owner

Collaborator

Participant

Viewer

Apply for Funds, Withdraw Fund Requests

Yes

No

No

No

Submit Claims

Withdraw Claims

Yes

No

No

No

Add Activities

Yes

Yes

No

No

Edit/Delete Activities

Yes

Yes

Yes-restricted. Users with this access level can only edit or delete the activities that they have created.

No

In Programs:

 

Action

Owner

Collaborator

Participant

Viewer

Approve/Decline Fund Requests

Yes

No

No

No

Approve/Decline Claims

Yes

No

No

No

Move Program Stage

Yes

Yes

No

No

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.