You can use the Discoverability panel in an object to set up and tailor restricted participant visibility for objects. Once discoverable to a company, employees of the company can find (search) and send a request to join an object.
On this panel, as an owner on objects, you can:
- Update the Sharing Mode for objects.
- Update if all employees of a company can find and request to join by default when a company is added on an object (when the first user from a company is added on an object, the company is automatically added to that object).
- Add new companies in your network to an object.
- For all objects (except Partner Programs), you can also select if you want Program Members to Discover and Request to Join the object.
- To ensure member privacy, you can set restricted participant visibility for objects, where participants would not be able to view information about participants from other companies in the program.
- Go to the object for which you want to view/update discoverability-view/add company information and/or view/add information on partner programs linked to the object.
- Click Edit (pencil icon) on the Discoverability panel. Edit is only enabled when you hover in the panel header. Edit Discoverability window opens.
- Owners can update the Sharing Mode for objects company-wide.
- Auto Accept Requests to Join checkbox is applicable when Discoverability is enabled for a company and/or a partner program. When checked, requests to join from users of a company or members of a partner program skip owner approvals and users are auto-added as participants to the object.
- By default, the feature Can Participants view members from other participant's companies? is "OFF", thus the participants would not be able to view information about participants from other companies in the program. It is recommended to keep this off to ensure member privacy.
- To add a company, search for the company and click Add.
- In the company row, select Yes in the Can Employees Find & Request to Join column if you want employees of that company to be able to search and join the object as a participant without implicit approval from object owners. (To get your access levels updated, please contact object owners).
- In the company row, select No in the Can Employees Find & Request to Join column if you do not want employees of that company to be able to search and join the object.
- The Highest Access Level field indicates the highest access level of a user from that company on the object. The Access hierarchy from highest to lowest is - Owner, Collaborator, Viewer, Participant.
- The Last Updated By column will indicate when the discoverability settings for a particular company was changed.
- The GIF image attached below shows how a Participant would view a Partner Program with restricted participant visibility(When this setting is Off) where the following restrictions are placed:
VIEW: Participants can only view members from their own company and cannot see members from other Participant companies, and cannot see these Participant companies in the member company list. Participants can view owners, collaborators, viewers and the companies associated with these members.
ACCESS: Participants can only access assets that they created or assets uploaded by owners, collaborators, and viewers.
TASKS: Participants can only access tasks created by them, assigned to them or watched by them.
COMMENTS: Participants cannot access Comments.
INVITE: If Who can Share? Is set to Any Member, the participant can only invite users from their own company.
NOTIFICATIONS: Participants will only receive notifications (in Activity Log and Work Center) for the above updates and should not see any updates made by participants from other companies.
- The GIF image below shows how an Owner would view a Partner Program with restricted participant visibility.
In WorkSpan we have one more level of security where we can set any of the security fields in templates to a default value and can mark it as non-editable on the object.
For more information see: